Sunday, February 25, 2018

RtP's Week in Review (02/25/18)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!
  • Have you been following the countdown on the Bout of Books Instagram feed? It's COMING! (Well, in May, but STILL!)

Saturday, February 24, 2018

Spotlight On... How to Date a Douchebag by Sara Ney

GUUUUYS. I ADORE this series. LOVE IT. If I'm having a rough week I can always count on Oz, Zeke and the rest of the guys to pull me out of my funk.

Bonus: The series name makes me grin.

So if you're looking for something with sexy, cocky, sometimes overconfident characters and REALLY FUN, sexy romances, this series is one you should consider.

 The Studying Hours by Sara Ney
The Studying Hours (How to Date a Douchebag #1)
CRUDE. ARROGANT. A**HOLE.
No doubt about it, Sebastian ‘Oz’ Osborne is the university’s most celebrated student athlete—and possibly the biggest douchebag. A walking, talking cliché, he has a filthy mouth, a fantastic body, and doesn’t give a sh*t about what you or anyone else thinks.

SMART. CLASSY. CONSERVATIVE.
Make no mistake, Jameson Clarke may be the university’s most diligent student—but she is no prude. Spending most of her time in the hallowed halls of the library, James is wary of pervs, jocks, and douchebags—and Oz Osborne is all three.

She’s smart, sarcastic—and not what he expected.

…EVERY DOUCHBAG HAS HIS WEAKNESS.

He wants to be friends.
He wants to spend time with her.
He wants to drive her crazy.

He wants…

Her.
 The Failing Hours by Sara Ney
The Failing Hours (How to Date a Douchebag #2)
Zeke Daniels isn't just a douchebag; he's an a**hole.

A total and complete jerk, Zeke keeps people at a distance. He has no interest in relationships—most a**holes don’t.

Dating?
Being part of a couple? Nope. Not for him.

He's never given any thought to what he wants in a girlfriend, because he's never had any intention of having one. Shit, he barely has a relationship with his family, and they're related; his own friends don’t even like him.

So why does he keep thinking about Violet DeLuca?
Sweet, quiet Violet—his opposite in every sense of the word.
The light to his dark, even her damn name sounds like rays of sunshine and happiness and shit.

And that pisses him off, too.
 The Learning Hours by Sara Ney
The Learning Hours (How to Date a Douchebag #3)
He's not a douchebag; but that doesn't stop his friends from turning him into one.

MY FRIENDS WANT ME TO GET LAID.

So much so that they plastered my ugly mug all over campus, in bold printed letters:

Are you the lucky lady who's going to break our roommate's cherry?
Him: socially awkward man with average-sized penis looking for willing sexual partner. You: must have a pulse. He will reciprakate with oral. Text him at: 555-254-5551

The morons can't even spell. And the texts I've been receiving are what wet dreams are made of. But I'm not like these douchebags, no matter how hard they try to turn me into one.

THIS ISN'T THE KIND OF ATTENTION I WANT.

One text stands out from hundreds. One number I can't bring myself to block. She seems different. Hotter, even in black and white.

However, after seeing her in person, I know she's not the girl for me. But my friends won't let up--they just don't get it. Douchebags or not, there's one thing they'll never understand: GIRLS DON'T WANT ME.

Especially her.
 The Coaching Hours by Sara Ney
The Coaching Hours (How to Date a Douchebag #4)
THERE ARE NO DOUCHEBAGS IN THIS STORY.

Well, there are, but they’re not who this story is about.
This story is about me—the coach’s daughter.
When I moved to Iowa to live with my dad, the university's take-no-prisoners wrestling coach, I thought transferring would be easy as pie—living with my father would be temporary, and he'd make sure his douchebag wrestlers left me alone.
Wrong on both counts.

ASSHOLES ALWAYS COME OUT OF THE WOODWORK WHEN THE STAKES ARE HIGH.

A bet is placed, and I'm on the table. After one humiliating night and too much alcohol, I find the last nice guy on campus. And when he offers to rent me his spare bedroom, I go all in. It’s time for the nice guy to finish first.
Midnight chats and spilling my problems turn to lingering touches. Lingering touches turn to more.
And the ultimate good guy has the potential do more damage than any douchebags ever could.
Sara Ney
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Friday, February 23, 2018

Perfect Mate by Jennifer Ashley [Review]

 Perfect Mate by Jennifer Ashley
Perfect Mate (Shifters Unbound #4.5) by Jennifer Ashley
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 14, 2017

Shifters Unbound
0.5. Shifters Made
1. Pride Mates
2. Primal Bonds
2.5. Bodyguard
3. Wild Cat
3.5. Hard Mated
4. Mate Claimed
4.5. Perfect MateKindle
4.6. Lone Wolf
5. Tiger Magic
5.5. Feral Heat
6. Wild Wolf
6.5. Bear Attraction
7. Mate Bond
7.25. Lion Eyes
7.5. Bad Wolf
7.75. Wild Things
8. White Tiger
9. Guardian's Mate
10. Red Wolf

Jennifer Ashley
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Cormac has been moving from one Shiftertown to the next in search of a mate. Now he's in southern Nevada, where a beautiful, unmated bear Shifter greets him...with a shotgun in her hands.

Nell is a hot-tempered mother of two cubs, and she doesn't take kindly to new Shifters showing up in town without her consent - even one with a sexy smile and brilliant blue eyes. But when her sons are endangered and she desperately needs help protecting them, Cormac proves he's worthy of her trust as well as her desire.
Thoughts on Perfect Mate: I'm kind of skipping around with this series and I have to say I'm loving it despite my crazy reading order. I might not have met Nell before this book, but I like her spunk and sass. And her ability to drive her cubs crazy when she talks about her sex life.

Also... BEARS! I really like bear shifters and all the largeness that comes with them. Cormac is a perfect example of this. he's big and steady and he has that protective vibe that rears up when Nell is in danger. BEARS! Love 'em!

While their romance moves fairly quickly (not going to lie, I love when shifters get all growly and possessive on their first meeting with their special someone) it wasn't lacking. Cormac knows what he wants as soon as he sees Nell and Nell...well, she digs in her heels a bit. Really, though, that's to be expected after what her mate did to her all those years ago. Still, she comes around. Eventually.

Shifters, man. Gotta love 'em!

Thursday, February 22, 2018

Z by Larissa Ione [Review]

 Z by Larissa Ione
Z (Demonica Underworld #3) by Larissa Ione
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 13, 2017

Demonica Underworld
1. Azagoth
2. Hades
3. ZPaperback | Kindle
4. Razr

Larissa Ione
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Zhubaal, fallen angel assistant to the Grim Reaper, has spent decades searching for the angel he loved and lost nearly a century ago. Not even her death can keep him from trying to find her, not when he knows she’s been given a second chance at life in a new body. But as time passes, he’s losing hope, and he wonders how much longer he can hold to the oath he swore to her so long ago…

As an emim, the wingless offspring of two fallen angels, Vex has always felt like a second-class citizen. But if she manages to secure a deal with the Grim Reaper — by any means necessary — she will have earned her place in the world. The only obstacle in the way of her plan is a sexy hardass called Z, who seems determined to thwart her at every turn. Soon it becomes clear that they have a powerful connection rooted in the past…but can any vow stand the test of time?
Thoughts on Z: You gotta love a fallen angel with a heart of gold. Okay, maybe that was stretching it. Z definitely has morals, but he also still does his part in helping Azagoth keep things running smoothly. And sometimes those things are of the dangerous, bloody kind.

That said, Z also has to come to accept that time moves on. Meaning, his lady love isn't the same angel she was before. Literally. She's NOT the same person. She's gone through a reincarnation and the ties that bound her to Z have stretched.

Frankly, Vex is everything Laura wasn't. She's deadly and driven and she has a handful of souls she needs to unload before they tear her apart. GOOD TIMES!

I'm loving these underworld stories. These fallen aren't all sweetness and light, but they do know how to treat their ladies right. You know, between the torture and eviscerations. *slow thumbs up*

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Hades by Larissa Ione [Review]

 Hades by Larissa Ione
Hades (Demonica Underworld #2) by Larissa Ione
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 13, 2017

Demonica Underworld
1. Azagoth
2. HadesPaperback | Kindle
3. Z
4. Razr

Larissa Ione
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A fallen angel with a mean streak and a mohawk, Hades has spent thousands of years serving as Jailor of the Underworld. The souls he guards are as evil as they come, but few dare to cross him. All of that changes when a sexy fallen angel infiltrates his prison and unintentionally starts a riot. It’s easy enough to quell an uprising, but for the first time, Hades is torn between delivering justice — bestowing or mercy — on the beautiful female who could be his salvation…or his undoing.

Thanks to her unwitting participation in another angel’s plot to start Armageddon, Cataclysm was kicked out of Heaven and is now a fallen angel in service of Hades’s boss, Azagoth. All she wants is to redeem herself and get back where she belongs. But when she gets trapped in Hades’s prison domain with only the cocky but irresistible Hades to help her, Cat finds that where she belongs might be in the place she least expected…
Thoughts on Hades: HADES! Mohawked, kinda evil, but still good enough for an Unfallen to, umm, fall for him. What can I say? I like these underworld men. They're not all bad. Just mostly. *thumbs up*

So. Cat. We met her when Azagoth hired her to help out around his domain after Lilliana came to live with him. She's not necessarily the best housekeeper, but she and Lilliana have become friends and Azagoth kinda puts up with her clumsiness. Kinda. Mostly. But Cat is aptly named and she might have *accidentally* put herself in a bad situation when she tried to right a mistake she made.

Buuuut, considering she's forced to spend time with Hades when they get trapped in the Inner Sanctum, I think things turn out all right. Mostly. Except for that torture part. But she mostly doesn't remember that, so...it's FINE!

Really. FINE.

Sexy and dangerous, I'm looking forward to Z's story now.

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Unfrozen by Regine Abel [Review]

 Unfrozen by Regine Abel
Unfrozen (Valos of Sonhadra #9) by Regine Abel
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: February 9, 2018

Valos of Sonhadra
1. Alluvial
2. Tempest
3. Blazing
4. Whirlwind
5. Radiant
6. Shadowed
7. Undying
8. Enduring
9. Unfrozen - Kindle

Regine Abel
Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
When the penitentiary ship she's incarcerated in gets sucked into an anomaly, Lydia barely survives the crash onto an alien planet. Only the sadistic experiments performed on her by the prison's scientist allow her to survive this harsh and dangerous world. The future looks grim until she stumbles upon a magnificent city of ice and its most unusual inhabitant.

Kai is fascinated by the delicate stranger fallen from the stars with the power to bring his hibernating city back to life. She stirs emotions long forgotten by his frozen heartstone. Can she be the salvation of his people or will the trap set by the Creators bring about their collective doom?
Thoughts on Unfrozen: Okay. So I love sci-fi romance. And I love when we get new takes on my favorite scenarios (a character being marooned on a planet and forced to use their wits and skills to survive is HIIIIGH on my list of faves). And I love romances that step outside the boundaries of a more traditional pairing (Lydia and Kai finding a way to be together despite their differences THRILLED me!).

Basically, I'm saying this book hit all my hot buttons. Romance on a distant world between two beings who are VERY different. LOOOOVE IT!

(To be fair, Regine Abel has quickly become an author whose sci-fi romances I adore, so loving this book isn't so much a surprise as a happy addition to my growing collection of books by her.)

But enough about my fangirl love for distant worlds. Let's talk about Lydia and Kai. The experiments aboard the prison ship has taken Lydia's inborn abilities and added a few extras to them. So she's VERY well equipped to handle the dangers the planet throws at her. As it turns out, only her ability to withstand extremes in heat and cold can help save Kai and his people from complete extinction. So, you know, I guess, IN THIS ONE INSTANCE, those experiments worked out for the best.

Meanwhile, Kai's existence is barren before Lydia arrives. He's going through the motions, but even he's starting to feel the press of time that so many of his brothers have succumbed to.

I REALLY liked this world and the awful things Lydia has to unravel to save Kai and his people. In fact, I want more of them. I want to see what happens next to this strange, powerful tribe and the human who reawakened them.




Monday, February 19, 2018

Rocky Mountain Home by Vivian Arend [Review]

 Rocky Mountain Home by Vivian Arend
Rocky Mountain Home (Six Pack Ranch #11) by Vivian Arend
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: June 21, 2017

Six Pack Ranch
1. Rocky Mountain Heat
2. Rocky Mountain Haven
3. Rocky Mountain Desire
4. Rocky Mountain Angel
5. Rocky Mountain Rebel
6. Rocky Mountain Freedom
7. Rocky Mountain Romance
8. Rocky Retreat
9. Rocky Mountain Shelter
10. Rocky Mountain Devil
11. Rocky Mountain HomePaperback | Kindle

Vivian Arend
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
There’s no distance you can run to escape the past.

Too stubborn to face his sins, Jesse Coleman bolted from the Six Pack Ranch, only to fall straight into the arms of a beautiful stranger. Twelve hours later, the seductive firebrand is nothing but a whiskey-laced memory—but one powerful enough to convince Jesse tracking down his elusive lover is worth the effort.

Darilyn Hayes figured it was her lucky night when the sexiest cowboy in Alberta interrupted her annual drink-until-I-fall-over wake. At least until four weeks later when she discovers she’s pregnant and her one-night-stand is nowhere to be found. Still, as she’s shared with her devoted blog readers, Dare has dealt with life’s not-so-gentle surprises before. She’ll make it on her own.

When an internet picture gone viral leads to their reunion, Jesse’s floored by Dare’s news. She’s very clear she’s not looking for a commitment, but screw that. He’s going to do the right thing by her and his unborn kid. The fact they lit the sheets on fire is a bonus, but with a baby on the way, both their lives are gonna change.

Jesse’s got a ton of family to reconnect with, including his estranged twin. Dare holds family loosely—even though she loves them—because she knows too well how fragile life can be. Between her and Jesse, they’ve got enough baggage to open a store.

But they still have a shot at forever—if they’re willing to fight for it.

This final novel in the series contains the following:
A sexy, dirty, cocky-as-hell prodigal son Coleman with massive bridges to rebuild. A woman able to see to the heart of the matter yet bold enough to speak the truth. A family of extraordinary resolve and endless love. A wedding or two. And babies—oh lordy, the babies…
Thoughts on Rocky Mountain Home: AND BABIES. That warning in the blurb doesn't lie. The Colemans are a prolific bunch and they're not afraid to get physical with their special someone. So there are babies. SO MANY BABIES. (It's GLORIOUS!)

But this book isn't entirely about babies (although they do play a starring role). This book is about Jesse and Dare and family and finding forgiveness. Jesse was a wreck when we last saw him. He was beating himself up and making everyone's life tough because of it. From his perspective, running was the only way he could free himself from the pickle he found himself in.

Except, as he finds out when he FINALLY returns home, there are other ways to deal with problems besides running. It takes him a while, but that lesson eventually sticks. But then, Jesse had some growing up to do and Dare and her little surprise gave him the push he needed to do exactly that.

I LOVED seeing so many familiar faces. Those Colemans live hard and love harder and it was SO FUN to watch their big, sprawling family welcome Dare into the fold. And all those babies. They were welcomed, too.

I'm sad to say goodbye to this clan, but I'm excited for the spin-off series to come. You can't keep a good rancher down, amirite?!?!