Saturday, July 22, 2017

Write On Review-a-thon [42]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
The Write On Review-a-Thon is a challenge hosted by Book Bumblings. From Friday through Sunday, we all band together and write as many reviews as possible. It’s a weekend for you to either catch up on reviews or get ahead on upcoming ones. It doesn’t matter if you write one review or 10 – if you write a review, you’re in.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, July 28th to Sunday, July 30th.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}


Friday, July 21, 2017

Spellbinder by Thea Harrison [Review]

 Spellbinder by Thea Harrison
Spellbinder (Moonshadow #2) by Thea Harrison
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: June 14, 2017

Moonshadow (part of the Elder Races World)
1. Moonshadow
2. SpellbinderKindle
3. Lionheart

Thea Harrison
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Kidnapped while on tour, musician Sidonie Martel is transported to the mystical land of Avalon. A human without magical ability, she is completely vulnerable to the deadly forces surrounding her.

When she defies her captors and refuses to share her music, an act of violent cruelty leaves her broken, her ability to play silenced, maybe forever. Her only hope is a whisper in the dark, gentle hands that offer healing, and a man who refuses to show her his face yet who offers advice she dare not ignore.

One of the most feared and powerful sorcerers in history, Morgan le Fae serves a Queen he despises, Isabeau of the Light Court. Once a famous bard and an advisor to kings, Morgan has been enslaved to Isabeau for hundreds of years, acting as enforcer and the commander of her deadly Hounds.

Sidonie’s music touches Morgan in places he had abandoned centuries ago, and her fiery spirit resurrects feelings he had believed long dead. For Sidonie, trapped in captivity, passion offers a comfort she cannot resist.

But Isabeau holds Morgan bound in magical chains that only Death can break. And in the court of a cruel, jealous Queen, the only thing that burns hotter than love is revenge…
Thoughts on Spellbinder: Diving into a new Elder Races novel always reminds me how very much I love this series. I adore how the mythology has expanded beyond the US Wyr and I get a kick out of the twisted politics of the Dark and Light Fae courts.

Did I say twisted? Because Isabeau's lust to be perceived as the best, the most beautiful, the greatest power in her land is messed up. She's arrogant and cruel and she's messing with forces even she can barely comprehend.

And Morgan hates her. Every act of cruelty, every time she goes off the rails and rants and raves only deepens his hatred. What she does to Sidonie is the last straw for Morgan. BUT...with the Queen's chains still binding him, he's not able to do much to help Sid. It's a terrible place for him to be in and he can't see a way out.

Sid's quick mind and almost obsessive nature gives Morgan options he didn't have before. Her ability to work things out and take leaps of faith pushes him. And they are sweetly fantastic together. While trusting Morgan seems like a bad idea on the surface (and given what we know about the Queen's ability to control him), Sid does just that. She trusts him and opens up a world of possibilities for them.

I'm still in love with this world and I was tickled to see a familiar face pop up. Things are in motion and I CAN'T WAIT to see where the next adventure takes us.

Thursday, July 20, 2017

Barbarian's Hope by Ruby Dixon [Review]

 Barbarian's Hope by Ruby Dixon
Barbarian's Hope (Ice Planet Barbarians #11) by Ruby Dixon
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: December 26, 2016

Ice Planet Barbarians
1. Ice Planet Barbarians
2. Barbarian Alien
3. Barbarian Lover
4. Barbarian Mine
5. Ice Planet Holiday
6. Barbarian's Prize
7. Barbarian's Mate
7.5. Having the Barbarian's Baby
7.6. Ice Ice Babies
8. Barbarian's Touch
8.5. Calm
9. Barbarian's Taming
9.5. Aftershocks
10. Barbarian's Heart
11. Barbarian's HopePaperback | Kindle
12. Barbarian's Choice
13. Barbarian's Redemption
14. Barbarian's Lady

Ruby Dixon
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Seasons ago, I resonated to the quietest of tribesmates, a male content to love me from afar while I was the center of attention. We could have been happy. Despite our differences, I loved him and he loved me.

But then a terrible thing happened…and my world was never the same again.

Now resonance is giving us a second chance, but…I’m afraid. What if what I have with my mate is too broken to be fixed? What if there’s no hope left for us at all?
Thoughts on Barbarian's Hope: Oh, my goodness, Asha's heartache was rough to read. She's just so broken and angry in the beginning. Which I totally got. Her anger of Hemalo leaving her was justified in a lot of ways, but he had his reasons for doing what he did, too. Everybody deals with grief differently and he was trying to do what was best for Asha.

Having a group of humans suddenly get absorbed into their tribe didn't help Asha, either. She went from being fought over as one of the only unmated females, to losing something precious to her, to suddenly not being needed by anyone. Hemalo's seeming rejection of her didn't help. Basically, Asha was in a depression spiral and it took the quietest of the human women to draw her out.

I'm getting very, very curious about how the metlaks are going to play into things down the road. They're more than the beasts the tribe says they are, but how they fit into what the tribe is building in the ruins of the old city remains to be seen.

Man, I dig this series. HARD.

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Ride Baby Ride by Vivian Arend [Review]

 Ride Baby Ride by Vivian Arend
Ride Baby Ride (Thompson & Sons #1) by Vivian Arend
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: December 19, 2016

Thompson & Sons
1. Ride Baby Ride - PaperbackKindle
2. Rocky Ride
3. One Sexy Ride
4. Let it Ride
5. A Wild Ride

Vivian Arend
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
He wants all her tomorrows

Small town mechanic Gage Jenick’s been waiting for this moment ever since his best friend’s little sister transformed from annoying tagalong to desirable woman. When sweet Katy Thompson kicks her boyfriend to the curb, Gage makes his move. In spite of an assignment that will take him completely off the grid for five long months, he steals her away for one night of steamy passion with the promise of more in the future.

She can’t remember yesterday

When a freak accident on a storm-swept road leaves Katy with a memory full of holes, she can’t remember her own email password, much less how the little pink “positive” on the pregnancy stick got there. She’s at a loss to explain what happened, or when…or with whom. Suddenly she’s got two men claiming to be her baby daddy: her redneck ex, and her long-time crush, Gage.

But what the mind forgets, the heart remembers. Still, it’s going to be a long, hard ride to a happily-ever-after for two, plus one.
Thoughts on Ride Baby Ride: Somehow I missed Katy's book when I was reading this series the first time around. Might I just say, the things she has to deal with are doozies! The night of her life followed by an accident that leaves her battling to regain her memories with an unexpected pregnancy thrown on top. Throw in her douchey ex who tries to use her lapse in memory to worm his way back into her life and things are a little tense for a while.

Admittedly, Gage does his best to try to be there for Katy once he realizes the extent of her issues. The fact she doesn't remember being with him is just a hiccup he works around. Her ex being around complicates things, but Gage is determined and he's all in. Amnesia, unexpected pregnancy and all.

What can I say? I liked the guy.

It's nice to close out a series (yes, with the first book instead of the last, I KNOW!) and see all the pieces come together. Or...see the pieces laid out for the romances that come later. Those Thompsons, man. They love hard. I like that.

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Trust by Kylie Scott [Review]

 Trust by Kylie Scott
Trust by Kylie Scott
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: June 30, 2017

Kylie Scott
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon | Kindle |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Being young is all about the experiences: the first time you skip school, the first time you fall in love…the first time someone holds a gun to your head.

After being held hostage during a robbery at the local convenience store, seventeen year old Edie finds her attitude about life shattered. Unwilling to put up with the snobbery and bullying at her private school, she enrolls at the local public high school, crossing paths with John. The boy who risked his life to save hers. While Edie’s beginning to run wild, however, John’s just starting to settle down. After years of partying and dealing drugs with his older brother, he’s going straight—getting to class on time, and thinking about the future.

An unlikely bond grows between the two as John keeps Edie out of trouble and helps her broaden her horizons. But when he helps her out with another first—losing her virginity—their friendship gets complicated.

Meanwhile, Edie and John are pulled back into the dangerous world they narrowly escaped. They were lucky to survive the first time, but this time they have more to lose—each other.
Thoughts on Trust: Wow. Edie and John were just...wow. I genuinely liked them. Edie was so broken after the robbery. I mean, she tried to move on and not let things affect her, but she was a mess. Given the trauma she went experienced, it made perfect sense. As did all the things that came after. She'd seen how fleeting life could be and she was determined to do all the things she hadn't done before.

On the other end of the spectrum, John's experience showed him the direction his life was probably going to take if he didn't clean up his act. He's trying to put his wild days behind him while Edie's determined to try new things. They're a complicated, PTSD-riddled mess and they're somehow so right for one another.

They have their ups and their downs and they both stubbornly cling to the idea that they're "just friends." Which makes sense, really, because their friendship is the only thing they feel like they have a handle on and letting that friendship evolve could shatter one or both of them if things didn't work out.

Good gravy, I liked this book. Danger, heroics, angst, friendship (don't even get me started on what Edie went through with her former BFF), and two hearts finding one another despite all the obstacles thrown in their path. *draws glittery hearts around everything*

Also, this cover is SO NICE. *fans self*

(And because this trailer is pretty darn cool...)

TRUST by Kylie Scott (Official Book Trailer) from FILM 14 on Vimeo.


Monday, July 17, 2017

Truth or Beard by Penny Reid [Review]

 Truth or Beard by Penny Reid
Truth or Beard (Winston Brothers #1) by Penny Reid
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: December 28, 2016

Winston Brothers
1. Truth or Beard - Paperback | Kindle
2. Grin and Beard It
3. Beard Science

Penny Reid
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Beards, brothers, and bikers! Oh my!

Identical twins Beau and Duane Winston might share the same devastatingly handsome face, but where Beau is outgoing and sociable, Duane is broody and reserved. This is why Jessica James, recent college graduate and perpetual level-headed good girl, has been in naïve and unhealthy infatuation with Beau Winston for most of her life.

His friendly smiles make her tongue-tied and weak-kneed, and she’s never been able to move beyond her childhood crush. Whereas Duane and Jessica have always been adversaries. She can’t stand him, and she’s pretty sure he can’t stand the sight of her…

But after a case of mistaken identity, Jessica finds herself in a massive confusion kerfuffle. Jessica James has spent her whole life paralyzed by the fantasy of Beau and her assumptions of Duane’s disdain; therefore she’s unprepared for the reality that is Duane’s insatiable interest, as well as his hot hands and hot mouth and hotter looks. Not helping Jessica’s muddled mind and good girl sensibilities, Duane seems to have gotten himself in trouble with the local biker gang, the Iron Order.

Certainly, Beau’s magic spell is broken. Yet when Jessica finds herself drawn to the man who was always her adversary, now more dangerous than ever, how much of her level-head heart is she willing to risk?
Thoughts on Truth or Beard: MAN, I like those Winston men. They're just so delightfully quirky and...bearded. SO MUCH BEARD. SO MUCH. It was delightful.

So. Duane and Jessica. The surly mechanic and the Sheriff's daughter. They're kinda adorable together. Even when they're working at cross purposes. Duane is so determined to do things right just because he doesn't want to be like his dad. And Jessica has that laser focus on traveling the world which makes her practically blind to any other options.

They fight. They put ridiculous plans into play. They rely on their families and protect them when they need to. (As an aside....Tina is not a nice person. Just no.)

If I haven't mentioned it already, the rest of those Winstons are gloriously hilarious. Especially Cletus. I can't WAIT to start his book! The dude is just too smart for his own good. Or maybe for everybody else's good. I don't know. I just know he made me laugh.

Fun, flirty, and a little dangerous. I like these Winstons and hope to see a lot more of them.

Sunday, July 16, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (07/16/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
  • KellyApple.com
    • On Wednesday, I talked about that *one* book in a series. You know, the one that always tangles you up during a reread. For me, it's a damaged vampire with a houseful of brothers. And now I have it in my head that I'm going to give it another reread try.
    • On Friday, I spilled some of my current favorite recent reads. Contemporary NA, sexy M/M, and a series set among the stars. Yessssss!
Check it out!