Monday, May 29, 2017

Idol by Kristen Callihan [Review]

 Idol by Kristen Callihan
Idol (VIP #1) by Kristen Callihan
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: November 16, 2016

VIP
1. Idol - Paperback | Kindle
2. Managed

Kristen Callihan
|  Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Libby

I found Killian drunk and sprawled out on my lawn like some lost prince. With the face of a god and the arrogance to match, the pest won’t leave. Sexy, charming, and just a little bit dirty, he’s slowly wearing me down, making me crave more.

He could be mine if I dare to claim him. Problem is, the world thinks he’s theirs. How do you keep an idol when everyone is intent on taking him away?

Killian

As lead singer for the biggest rock band in the world, I lived a life of dreams. It all fell apart with one fateful decision. Now everything is in shambles.

Until Liberty. She’s grouchy, a recluse—and kind of cute. Scratch that. When I get my hands on her, she is scorching hot and more addictive than all the fans who’ve screamed my name.

The world is clamoring for me to get back on stage, but I’m not willing to leave her. I’ve got to find a way to coax the hermit from her shell and keep her with me. Because, with Libby, everything has changed. Everything.
Thoughts on Idol: Guys. GUYS. Killian and Libby made me smile. A LOT. They were just so gloriously broken I couldn't help but adore them. To be fair, Libby's broken was a lot quieter than Killian's, but they were both struggling to find themselves after cataclysmic events and when they found one another everything clicked.

Okay. Wait. They didn't click right away. I mean, Libby had a lot of antagonism toward Killian initially, but they worked things out. Eventually.

Things I loved: the band and how they're all struggling to find themselves again after what happened. Killian's belief in Libby and his dedication to giving her support. Libby's sassy responses to anyone who crosses her. Heh. I really liked how she needled Scottie. Libby's like a force of nature when she gets going and it cracked me up.

Bottom line: I REALLY liked this book. Killian and Libby made me happy. Killian and the band made me grin. Everything. Everything made me happy about his book, okay? And? I'm super excited about Scottie's book. I have it queued up already.

Sunday, May 28, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (05/28/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...

Saturday, May 27, 2017

Spotlight On... No Reservations by Kelly Apple

Newwwwww booooook! This time featuring BIG CAT SHIFTERS! Well, and a werewolf. Because I loooooove me some werewolves.

No Reservations (Wicked Pride #1)
Cami Patterson has the worst luck with men. Everyone in her pride knows it and they steer clear of her so they don't end up with a broken bone or two or, even worse, dead. Needless to say, when her best friend sets her up on a blind date with a werewolf visiting from out of town, she doesn't expect anything to come of it.

She certainly doesn't expect a night of non-stop excitement including thwarting a robbery, getting chased by the police, and almost causing an international incident. Who has time to enjoy themselves with all that going on? Or of hooking up with her sex-on-a-stick date?

Cami just might have met her match in the wolf who laughs in the face of danger and doesn't hesitate to jump in when there's a damsel in distress. Who knew it would take a wolf to brave this cat's run of bad relationships?
You can pick up No Reservations at: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iTunes | Kobo

Add No Reservations on Goodreads

Friday, May 26, 2017

Star Cruise: Outbreak by Veronica Scott [Review]

 Star Cruise: Outbreak by Veronica Scott
Star Cruise: Outbreak (Sectors SF #5) by Veronica Scott
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: November 3, 2016

Sectors SF
1. Wreck of the Nebula Dream
2. Escape from Zulaire
3. Mission to Mahjundar
4. Star Cruise: Marooned
5. Star Cruise: OutbreakPaperback | Kindle
6. Lady of the Star Wind
7. Hostage to the Stars
8. Star Cruise: Rescue
9. Trapped on Talonque

Veronica Scott
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
She saved countless soldiers in the wars … but does she have the weapons to fight an outbreak?

Dr. Emily Shane, veteran of the Sector Wars, is known as “The Angel of Fantalar” for her bravery under fire as a medic. However, the doctor has her own war wounds–severe PTSD and guilt over those she failed to save.

Persuaded to fill a seemingly frivolous berth as ship’s doctor on the huge and luxurious interstellar cruise liner Nebula Zephyr, she finds the job brings unexpected perks–a luxe beach deck with water imported from Tahumaroa II, and Security Officer Jake Dilon, a fellow veteran who heats her up like a tropical sun.

However, Emily soon learns she and Jake didn’t leave all peril behind in the war. A mysterious ailment aboard the Zephyr begins to claim victim after victim … and they must race against time and space to find the cause and a cure! Trapped on a ship no spaceport will allow to dock, their efforts are complicated by a temperamental princess and a terrorist–one who won’t hesitate to take down any being in the way of his target. If anyone’s left when the disease is through with them …
Thoughts on Star Cruise: Outbreak: I really, really like these Sectors SF men and women. They're resourceful, mentally strong, and they're willing to take on anything that crosses their paths. Including an outbreak aboard a cruise liner.

Now, Emily isn't as well off as everyone thinks. Her time on the front lines has broken something inside her and she's twitchy around others and her guilt over those she wasn't able to save is crushing. Jake takes the time to show her she's not alone and that she has people who've been through the same situations to lean on. And, you know, if something springs up between them while he's helping her heal, so be it.

Meanwhile, the cruise ship is hit with a virus that Emily and the crew have a hard time quantifying. As they try to figure out how to combat it, they're faced with the very real possibility that there may no coming back from the illness that's spreading across the ship.

We get to see a few familiar faces and the catastrophe that was the Nebula Dream is mentioned (crossovers with previous books make me happy!). I'm still loving this world and the events that take place in it.

Thursday, May 25, 2017

In the Bag by Emery Harper [Review]

 In the Bag by Emery Harper
In the Bag (Celeste Eagan Mysteries #2) by Emery Harper
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: November 2, 2016

Celeste Eagan Mysteries
1. Person of Interest
2. In the Bag - Kindle

Emery Harper
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Life as the principal actress at the Peytonville Playhouse is all I ever thought it'd be—and more. I'm practically living the bohemian dream, until my BFF Levi finds a dead body on his property. And is swiftly arrested for murder.

Detective Shaw Muldoon is my almost-but-not-quite-there-yet beau. He knows me. He knows Levi. He knows neither of us is capable of something so heinous. And he knows that despite his strict orders to leave the case with the professionals, I'll launch my own investigation to clear Levi's name.

One more gruesome murder: check.

A dubious bakery owner who's taken a fancy to me: check.

This season's "it" handbag practically falling into my lap: check.

Levi's up the creek if I don't uncover the truth…but my investigation has put me firmly in the murderer's sights.

Life in danger: check.
Thoughts on In the Bag: Heh. Celeste certainly knows how to wriggle her way into the middle of mysteries, doesn't she? The lady has a sixth sense for flushing out danger and ending up in some iffy situations. I can see understand how she makes Shaw crazy with her casual disregard for her own safety.

I can also understand where she's coming from since it's her BFF's freedom on the line if someone doesn't start uncovering the truth. Unfortunately, with Shaw unable to discuss the case, she almost ends up doing more harm than good. Almost.

Speaking of Detective Muldoon, the guy needs to communicate better. I get he has some issues he's dealing with, but a lady like Celeste doesn't do well when she's left hanging. See the dubious bakery owner in the blurb. *nods* Throw in her propensity for stumbling into trouble and the good detective has his hands full.

This series is fun. The characters might drive me batty at times with the way they dance around one another, but I'm learning to enjoy the slow build. Plus, Celeste finding dead people whenever she turns around amuses me. I'm nicely twisted that way.

Here's to more dangerous, wacky adventures with Celeste Eagan.

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

The Vampire's True Love Trials by Kristen Painter [Review]

 The Vampire's True Love Trials by Kristen Painter
The Vampire's True Love Trials (Nocturne Falls) by Kristen Painter
Format: ebook
Source: provided as part of the Taming the Vampire anthology
Date read: November 2, 2016

Nocturne Falls
1. The Vampire's Mail Order Bride
2. The Werewolf Meets His Match
3. The Gargoyle Gets His Girl
4. The Professor Woos the Witch
4.5. The Witch's Halloween Hero
4.6. The Werewolf's Christmas Wish
5. The Vampire's Fake Fiancee
5.5. The Vampire's Valentine Surprise
6. The Shifter Romances the Writer
6.5. The Vampire's True Love Trials - Kindle

Kristen Painter
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Vampire Sebastian Ellingham wants one thing: to marry Tessa Blythe, the Valkyrie he's fallen madly in love with/ So meeting her parents seems like the natural thing to do. He's even looking forward to it, until he discovers they've already found her a husband. Now the only way to keep Tessa in his life is to complete a series of tests meant for a very different kind of supernatural. And failing means losing her forever.
Thoughts on The Vampire's True Love Trials: This short story reminded me how much I enjoy the wacky shenanigans of the residents of Nocturne Falls. I haven't read Sebastian and Tessa's book yet (something I plan on fixing mighty soon), but I do like a good romance starring cross-species lovers. Vampires and Valkyries, OH MY!

I wasn't as enamored of Tessa's parents choosing her future husband for her, but different strokes for different folks, I guess. When your family is all about carrying on the Valkyrie/Berserker bloodlines and you don't seem to have any prospects, an arranged marriage could be viewed as a good thing. Too bad Tessa already has her dude. I'm thinking she should have told her parents about Sebastian at some point before, but...SHENANIGANS!

Vampires and Valkyries, my friends. They work for me.

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Stolen Legacy by Lindsay Buroker [Review]

 Stolen Legacy by Lindsay Buroker
Stolen Legacy (Sky Full of Stars #3) by Lindsay Buroker
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: May 18, 2017

Sky Full of Stars
1. The Rogue Prince
2. Angle of Truth
3. Stolen LegacyKindle

Lindsay Buroker
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Even though Captain Jelena Marchenko has Starseer talents, such as telepathy and telekinesis, she grew up feeling ostracized from the Starseer community. She longs for an opportunity to prove that she deserves a place among them.

When an old friend of the family shows up, seeking transportation to the site of an ancient Starseer relic, Jelena believes this may be her chance to prove herself. If she helps Abelardus recover an artifact that's important to the Starseer community, maybe she’ll finally be invited to join.

Only when she and her crew are on the way does she start to question what Abelardus plans to do with the artifact and if he has the right to dig it up. Further, she wonders why it’s been left alone for centuries. Is there a reason nobody tried to recover it before? And is it worth risking the lives of herself and her crew to win the good regard of strangers?
Thoughts on Stolen Legacy: Like mother, like daughter, amirite?!?! Relics and danger and sometimes questionable allies all wrapped up in a spaceship that everybody underestimates. Or maybe it's the ship's captain who gets underestimated. Either way. Nobody expects the Snapper (or her crew) to do what they do.

Or to get out of the tight situations they invariably find themselves in.

With the addition of a handful of temporary guests, we get to see a different dynamic settle over the crew. While Jelena loves captaining, she's still uncertain if the choices she's making for the ship and crew are the right ones. Considering Thor's sometimes bloody focus on following the path his father set down for him, Jelena's desire to not seek out harm (on herself or others)... well, let's just say he's starting to consider that the path he's following might not be the only one available to him.

*stares at everyone with my gleeful eyes*

(Seriously, I really like the conflict in Thorian. He's been forged into a weapon, but that doesn't mean he doesn't have options. Plus, I'm endlessly holding out hope that Jelena's more optimistic outlook on life will rub off on Thor.)

Old friends (of a sort), plenty of dangerous situations, and one idealistic, young captain all come together to give us a new adventure across the stars.