Monday, September 25, 2017

Carlos' Peace by Melissa Haag [Review]

 Carlos' Peace by Melissa Haag
Carlos' Peace (Judgement of the Six Companion Series #5) by Melissa Haag
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: February 14, 2017

Judgement of the Six
1. Hope(less)
2. (Mis)fortune
3. (Un)wise
4. (Un)bidden
5. (Dis)content
6. (Sur)real

Judgement of the Six Companion Series
1. Clay's Hope
2. Emmitt's Treasure
3. Luke's Dream
4. Thomas' Heart
5. Carlos' PeacePaperback | Kindle

Melissa Haag
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Carlos has spent his entire life avoiding attachments to individuals and has devoted his time to protecting his race. His childhood taught him that something is out there, threatening the existence of werewolves, and he will let nothing interfere with his vendetta to stop the threat.

Physical attachment and vendetta collide when he sees Isabelle. She’s meant to be his Mate and instinct demands that he protect her above all else. However, letting go of his past is as impossible as embracing a future filled with love. Isabelle wants nothing to do with him, except fight with him. Carlos must find a way through her emotional armor and hope, together, they can heal and face the threat.
Thoughts on Carlos' Peace: I've enjoyed getting in the heads of the men in this series, but I think I got the most out of this book as far as character growth goes. I mean, Carlos is a pretty closed off guy normally. We didn't get to see what he was thinking or get to see much beyond what he allowed Isabelle and the others to see on in Isabelle's book.

Turns out there's a whole lot locked down under the surface of this guy. A whole lot. He's learned to shove all his emotions in the proverbial closet to stay steady and focused. I'm not going to lie, the situation with his sister kinda killed me and I really, really hope he gets some resolution on that end.

Beyond that, his acceptance of Ethan was...well, it was a little rocky. While he could appreciate what Ethan meant to Isabelle, werewolves have a hard time seeing their special lady friend with another man.

I'm very, very curious how things are going to play out after the surprise at the end. I...well, I'm not going to give anything away, but I wonder. I wonder quite a bit.

Sunday, September 24, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (09/24/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
  • KellyApple.com
    • On Tuesday, I talked about this and that. Like leaving reviews and signing up for my newsletter and what I'm planning for this month's release. GOOD TIMES!
Check it out!

Saturday, September 23, 2017

Spotlight On...Ice Planet Barbarian standalones by Ruby Dixon

I make no effort to hide my utter and undying love for Ruby Dixon's Ice Planet Barbarians series. It's campy and fun and it has aliens with special anatomical differences. I seriously adore it. Seriously.

BUT...it's a big series. BIG series. Book 17 came out this month and for anyone who's slipping into the series late, that can be a wee bit intimidating.

GOOD NEWS, GUYS! The IPB series has two books that work as spin-offs/standalones. So if you're looking to try the series before fully committing (although I highly recommend just starting at the beginning and digging into all the alien-y goodness), these are the books you want to pick up...

 Prison Planet Barbarian by Ruby Dixon
Prison Planet Barbarian (Ice Planet Barbarians #14)
Being kidnapped by aliens is one thing.

Being kidnapped by aliens and then sent to a prison planet is something infinitely worse.

Here in Haven's prison system, I'm stranded among strangers, enemies, and the most ruthless criminals in the galaxy. There's no safety for a human woman here, especially not one branded as a murderer. I'm doomed to a fate worse than death.

Then...he decides I should be his. His name's Jutari. He's seven feet tall, blue, and horned. He's an assassin and one of the most dangerous prisoners here. He's like no one I've ever met before...and he might be my only chance.

This story stands completely alone and is only marginally connected to the Ice Planet Barbarians series. You do not need to read those books in order to follow this one.

 The Corsair's Captive by Ruby Dixon
The Corsair's Captive (Ice Planet Barbarians #17)
A pirate doesn’t ask for permission - he takes.

When I see the delicate human female collared and enslaved by the smuggler I’m about to swindle, I do what any male would do.

I take her from him. It’s what I do best, after all.

Now Fran’s mine, and I’m never giving her up. On board my spaceship, she’ll be safe. She’ll wear my clothes, eat my food, and sleep in my bed. I’ll keep her safe from a galaxy that wishes her harm.

But my sweet Fran wants nothing more than to return to Earth. How can I take her home when she holds my heart in her dainty, four-fingered hands?

This story stands completely alone and is only marginally connected to the Ice Planet Barbarians series and Prison Planet Barbarian. You do not need to read those books in order to follow this one.
Ruby Dixon
Website | Amazon |

Friday, September 22, 2017

Perilous Hunt by Lindsay Buroker [Review]

 Perilous Hunt by Lindsay Buroker
Perilous Hunt (Fallen Empire #7) by Lindsay Buroker
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: February 11, 2017

Fallen Empire
0.5. Last Command
1. Star Nomad
1.5. Saranth Three
2. Honor's Flight
2.5. Starfall Station
3. Starseers
4. Relic of Sorrows
5. Cleon Moon
6. Arkadian Skies
7. Perilous HuntPaperback | Kindle
8. End Game

Lindsay Buroker
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
After failing to catch up with her daughter Jelena so many times, Alisa's optimism is battered, but her determination has never waned. She, Leonidas, and their eclectic crew are hunting down a Starseer research station in the heart of the Kir Asteroid belt—Jelena's supposed location. Alisa vows that she will find her daughter if she has to search a million asteroids to do so.

But Jelena and her close friend, Prince Thorian, have attracted the interest of many factions, and the Star Nomad isn’t the only ship on the hunt…
Thoughts on Perilous Hunt: Alisa's mission to rescue her daughter has taken her to some interesting places. Deserted space stations and hidden bases are only the next step in this crazy cross-galaxy chase she's on. With different factions closing in for entirely different reasons (kinda), she's racing against the clock and one power-mad rogue Starseer who doesn't have any qualms about destroying those who get in his way.

Which means Alisa needs to be on her toes as she follows her intuition and the clues leading her on.

There are also a few distractions she has to deal with. The eclectic individuals she's collected along the way, for one. The hunky cyborg with a few hangups of his own, for another. Familial connections and meddling Starseers and asteroid belts, oh my!

Man, it's fun! (as an aside, I'm glad to see Leonidas finally getting a few of those issues he's been dealing with taken care of. Yes!)

One more book to go to round out this epic quest. Let's do it.

Thursday, September 21, 2017

Desperately Unprepared by K.B. Jacobs [Review]

 Desperately Unprepared by K.B. Jacobs
Desperately Unprepared (Naked Brews #0.5) by K.B. Jacobs
Format: ebook
Source: provided free through newsletter sign-up
Date read: February 8, 2017

Naked Brews
0.5. Desperately Unprepared - Newsletter sign-up
1. Deliciously Smooth
2. Deliciously Thick
3. Deliciously Bitter

K.B. Jacobs
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
All great love stories start with Once Upon a Time. But what happened before the Upon a Time? The Before a Time? Once Upon the day before? Before the Time was Onced Upon? Nevermind.

The point is, there’s a lot of business happening before our characters reach Chapter One.

Bringing us to Desperately Unprepared. Before the Meet Cute, first kiss and HEA there were two people desperately living life, unprepared for the future. This is their story.
Thoughts on Desperately Unprepared: After reading book 1 in this series, I fully expected to enjoy settling in to get to know Walsh and Lake a little better. I have to admit I didn't expect to get so much DEPTH added to their respective characters. Seriously, I'm all giddy about these two and the people they surround themselves with.

Walsh. Holy wow. I liked him before, I felt even more for him after seeing the events from his past that shaped him into who he was when he first met Lake. His early life wasn't nice and it was only luck (bad or good, you decide) and a kind hand extended to him that saved him. Again, it was luck that saved his life when most of the rest of his squad was killed. (As an aside, I'm both sniffling and giggling over the circumstances that led to that tiny lie they told Damien's mother. Not Damien's situation, which sucked, but how they ended up getting rid of his mother...you know what? Just read it. It was amusing.)

Lake. Her situation wasn't quite as tragic as Walsh's, but she had some pretty serious issues to deal with all the same. And friendship. Fantastic friendship that brought her friends to her side when she needed them most.

I'm sort of enamored of this novella, so, you know, you should grab it and read it and pick up book 1 to see how things play out. Just sayin'.

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Prince of Passion by Jessa Slade [Review]

 Prince of Passion by Jessa Slade
Prince of Passion (Sheerspace #2) by Jessa Slade
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: August 25, 2016

Sheerspace
1. Queen of Starlight
2. Prince of Passion - Kindle
3. Assassin's Hunger

Jessa Slade
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Bred to be a legendary lover, he was untouched...until her

When mercenary raiders targeted the empathic crystals that imbue the legendary l’auraly lovers with extraordinary sensual prowess, Icere, the last male l’auralyo, helped destroy the crystals. Rather than let the source of uninhibited pleasure be corrupted into a mind-controlling drug, he allowed his passionate destiny to remain forever unfulfilled. Now, Icere channels his fury into revenge. Tracking the raiders through the interstellar sheerways to a watery world infamous for its aphrodisiac liqueur, he finds a queen—as adrift and alone as he—forced for years into a fate she never desired.

Saya-Rynn inherited duty, command and control from her cruel grandfather and fought to transform her dangerous planet into a paradise for her people—but the price was literally a poison that runs through her veins. Though she feels as ancient as the seas, she finds herself awash in the hot male potency of the young Icere. Still, she resists the chance for indulgence she thinks has passed by her. But when the raiders strike again, Rynn must embrace her troubled legacy, and Icere will find his place as a lover and a fighter. Together, the reluctant ruler and the deposed prince of passion find common purpose, combating the mysterious entity seeking to rule the sheerways, and claim a love as bright as the infinite stars.
Thoughts on Prince of Passion: It's been a while since I read book 1 in this series and I'd forgotten how engrossing this world is. Icere's story is sexy and sad and dangerous all at once. Honesty, it was his sadness that got to me. He was so resigned to never belonging to someone the way he'd imagined he someday would. It was kinda heartbreaking.

But. BUT BUT BUT...then he meets Rynn and finds someone who makes his crystal sing. Now, the age difference could have been a turn-off, but it ... wasn't. Icere is determined and focused and YEARS beyond others his age. Rynn is just as focused and she finds something in Icere that she desperately needs. Together, they're sexyhot. RAWR!

(Also, Rynn's modifications are awesomecreepy. Like, WHO WOULD DO THAT TO A CHILD? But it makes her a pretty awesome badass and I kinda dig what she can do. I'm so conflicted sometimes on the things I enjoy.)

I *might* be toying with the idea of rereading book 1. Because the crazy is awesome in this series and I'm all over crazy, awesome things. *thumbs up*

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Can't Hardly Breathe by Gena Showalter [Review]

 Can't Hardly Breathe by Gena Showalter
Can't Hardly Breathe (The Original Heartbreakers #4) by Gena Showalter
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: July 24, 2017

The Original Heartbreakers
0.5. The One You Want
1. The Closer You Come 
2. The Hotter You Burn
3. The Harder You Fall
4. Can't Hardly BreathePaperback | Kindle
5. Can't Let Go
6. Can't Get Enough

Gena Showalter
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Bullied in high school, Dorothea Mathis's past is full of memories she'd rather forget. But there's one she can't seem to shake—her long-standing crush on former army ranger Daniel Porter. Now that the sexy bad boy has started using her inn as his personal playground, she should kick him out…but his every heated glance makes her want to join him instead.

Daniel returned to Strawberry Valley, Oklahoma, to care for his ailing father and burn off a little steam with no strings attached. Though he craves curvy Dorothea night and day, he's as marred by his past as she is by hers. The more he desires her, the more he fears losing her.

But every sizzling encounter leaves him desperate for more, and soon Daniel must make a choice: take a chance on love or walk away forever.
Thoughts on Can't Hardly Breathe: We're back in Strawberry Valley! This time around, we're given Dorothea and Daniel's story. Dorothea, who can't shake her hated high school nickname and is busting her butt to keep the inn running despite pretty minimal help from her family. And Daniel, who has more than a few issues he needs to get a handle on.

You know, to be fair, Dorothea had more complicated issues than I mentioned above. Her family still isn't terribly helpful, though.

To say that their road to happily ever after is a little bumpy is pretty accurate. She's trying to come out of her shell. He's determined to keep himself in his. For everyone's safety. At least that's his reasoning. He sets some pretty clear boundaries to their relationship, she's not willing to be anybody's dirty secret.

There are heated glances and longing looks and coming to terms with the things they're unwilling to compromise on. I honestly enjoyed the two of them together. Plus, we were introduced to their pool of friends and they ALL look like they're going to have just as bumpy roads on their own journeys to finding their special someone.

It shouldn't have to be said, but I am TOTALLY down for that.