Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Planet Dragos by Thea Harrison [Review]

 Planet Dragos by Thea Harrison
Planet Dragos (Elder Races #9.8) by Thea Harrison
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: May 1, 2018

Elder Races
1. Dragon Bound
2. Storm's Heart
3. Serpent's Kiss
3.5. True Colors
4. Oracle's Moon
4.5. Natural Evil
4.6. Devil's Gate
4.7. Hunter's Season
5. Lord's Fall
5.5. The Wicked
6. Kinked
6.5. Dragos Takes a Holiday
6.6. Pia Saves the Day
6.7. Peanut Goes to School
7. Night's Honor
8. Midnight's Kiss
8.5. Dragos Goes to Washington
8.6. Pia Does Hollywood
9. Shadow's End
9.5. Liam Takes Manhattan
9.7. The Chosen
9.8. Planet DragosKindle

Thea Harrison
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Pia’s latest pregnancy has become a daily challenge, her relationship with Dragos strained with argument. That hasn’t stopped them from achieving a compromise and traveling to Las Vegas to celebrate their friend Rune’s wedding to his mate Carling.

From the moment they arrive, the trip goes awry. Death walks in Vegas, and Pia is kidnapped as an ancient enemy makes a move to destroy the Great Beast once and for all.

But the Great Beast has other plans.

On Planet Dragos everything goes the way he arranges it—unless someone decides to cross him, and God help them then, because he doesn’t know how to back down, and he doesn’t ever, ever let up….
Thoughts on Planet Dragos: Full disclosure: I'm a whole lot of in love with this series and I'm a teeny bit sad this is the final installment featuring Dragos and Pia, but HOLY WOW Dragos doesn't do things by half measures. Seriously, man, the guy goes into things full throttle and he doesn't stop until he's either gotten what he has his eye on or all his enemies are smoking piles.

GLORIOUS!

I honestly adore the dynamic between Pia and Dragos. She's always been able to temper his explosive personality (at least somewhat) and he's made a concentrated effort to change the way he does things when the way he does things upsets her. As old and canny and smart as he is, he does make mistakes, as does she. Watching them navigate the ups and downs of their marriage has been fun. Let's face it, when Dragos crosses lines, he crosses them spectacularly.

That's what happens, at times, when you're a surly dragon with a whole lot of power.

I enjoyed this installment A LOT. I LOVED that decisions were made and things are moving forward for both the Cuelebre family and for the Wyr. While I'm sorry to say goodbye to Dragos and Pia's explosive romance, I genuinely loved how things ended.

Monday, May 21, 2018

White Hot by Ilona Andrews [Review]

 White Hot by Ilona Andrews
White Hot (Hidden Legacy #2) by Ilona Andrews
Format: paperback
Source: purchased
Date read: July 27, 2017

Hidden Legacy
1. Burn for Me
2. White HotPaperback | Kindle
3. Wildfire

Ilona Andrews
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Nevada Baylor has a unique and secret skill—she knows when people are lying—and she's used that magic (along with plain, hard work) to keep her colorful and close-knit family's detective agency afloat. But her new case pits her against the shadowy forces that almost destroyed the city of Houston once before, bringing Nevada back into contact with Connor "Mad" Rogan.

Rogan is a billionaire Prime—the highest rank of magic user—and as unreadable as ever, despite Nevada’s “talent.” But there’s no hiding the sparks between them. Now that the stakes are even higher, both professionally and personally, and their foes are unimaginably powerful, Rogan and Nevada will find that nothing burns like ice …
Thoughts on White Hot: Holy smokin' hot intensity, Batman! Nevada and Rogan generate enough sparks to light up a city or three. Even when they're fighting their attraction. Well, wait. Nevada's fighting it. Rogan's going the teeth-bared, overwhelmingly sexy route. Which, naturally, pushes all Nevada's buttons. Both the lusty ones and the frustrated ones.

Those two!

Anywho. There's more to this book than smoldering looks and almost touches. There are PLOTS afoot. Danger and bloodshed and more than a few head shots.We get to see the more human side of Rogan as he works to protect the things that are important to him. One of which is Nevada. The guy can go a little caveman when she's in danger. While he sees it as eliminating her vulnerabilities, she sees it as him trying to cage her. Which, as you might guess, is one of her hot buttons. Not a sexy hot button either.

They fight MAGNIFICENTLY. The make-ups are pretty nice too.

The dangling threads from book 1 are picked up and the picture they're uncovering is getting bigger and more complex by the minute. Someone wants to make some big changes in the way things work and they're willing to run through anyone they have to to do it.

Book 3 is waiting for me RIGHT NOW. Thank goodness. I need another Nevada/Rogan fix.

Sunday, May 20, 2018

RtP's Week in Review (05/20/18)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!
  • Bout of Books 22 is coming to an end and it's been another great one! If you like books and bookish things, you should TOTALLY join us in August for Bout of Books 23!

Saturday, May 19, 2018

Write On Review-a-thon [52]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
Brought to you by Reading the Paranormal and the #boutofbooks-ers facebook group. This monthly review-a-thon is a chance to get caught up on outstanding reviews. Bring your to-be-reviewed list, block out some time, write reviews. It's that simple.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, May 25th to Sunday, May 27th.

To find out more about the review-a-thon and future dates, visit the Review-a-thon page.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}


Friday, May 18, 2018

Piece of Work by Staci Hart [Review]

 Piece of Work by Staci Hart
Piece of Work by Staci Hart
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: May 8, 2018

Purchase links: Kindle

Staci Hart
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Marble isn’t the only thing that’s hard at this museum.

His body is as chiseled as Adonis. His lips are as sculpted as David. And his ego is the size of the Guggenheim.

You know the type—wolfish smile and the gravity of a black hole. The kind of man who sucks all the air from the room the second he enters it. My cocky boss thinks this internship was wasted on me, and he doesn’t hesitate to let me know.

But he’s wrong, and I’m going to prove it to him. If I can stay away from his devil lips, that is. Lips that cut me down and kiss me in the same breath, leaving me certain he’s on a mission to ruin my life.

And maybe my heart.
Thoughts on Piece of Work: While it's not surprise that I like ANYTHING Staci Hart writes, I'm particularly enamored of Rin and Court's story. Something about these two and the push and pull of their relationship grabbed me by the feels and squeezed. HARD.

Rin in painfully self-conscious when we first meet her. PAINFULLY. Court looks right through her in their first meeting and she's glad because he's so out of her league (in her opinion) that anything else is unfathomable. Then he gets to see how her brilliant, beautiful mind works and, well, he's intrigued.

And once she steps outside the college persona she's cultivated after years of being in an academic setting and makes a conscious decision to try to be the person she wants to be, he's intrigued by a whole lot more than her mind.

I honestly loved Rin's transformation. Even after she takes the first steps toward her new self, she's plagued by doubts. Her friends are FANTASTIC. They pick her up when she stumbles (which happens a LOT, poor lady) and are just this outstanding support system overall. They're the ones who remind her she can be more than she was when she gets down on herself and I LOOOOOVE that.

Women helping women are my THANG.

Rin and Court worked on a lot of levels for me. He's jaded and wary (with good reason) (also, his dad and that whole dynamic give me a sour lemon face) while Rin is disarmingly open about things. He's used to being in the spotlight, she's content to remain invisible. Until she isn't.

Staci Hart continues to bring her A game and I'm beyond thrilled to get to dive into the worlds she creates.

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Spotlight On...Piece of Work by Staci Hart [Release]

Piece of Work is LIVE!

Piece of Work
Staci Hart
Publication Date: May 17, 2018
Genre: Romance
Add to Goodreads

Marble isn’t the only thing that’s hard at this museum.

His body is as chiseled as Adonis. His lips are as sculpted as David. And his ego is the size of the Guggenheim.

You know the type—wolfish smile and the gravity of a black hole. The kind of man who sucks all the air from the room the second he enters it. My cocky boss thinks this internship was wasted on me, and he doesn’t hesitate to let me know.

But he’s wrong, and I’m going to prove it to him. If I can stay away from his devil lips, that is. Lips that cut me down and kiss me in the same breath, leaving me certain he’s on a mission to ruin my life.

And maybe my heart, too.

You can grab your copy of Piece of Work today on Amazon!



About the Author

Staci has been a lot of things up to this point in her life -- a graphic designer, an entrepreneur, a seamstress, a clothing and handbag designer, a waitress. Can't forget that. She's also been a mom, with three little girls who are sure to grow up to break a number of hearts. She's been a wife, though she's certainly not the cleanest, or the best cook. She's also super, duper fun at a party, especially if she's been drinking whiskey. When she's not writing, she's reading, sleeping, gaming, or designing graphics.




The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare [Review]

 The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare
The Duchess Deal (Girl Meets Duke #1) by Tessa Dare
Format: paperback
Source: provided by the publisher
Date read: July 24, 2017

Girl Meets Duke
1. The Duchess Deal - Paperback | Kindle

Tessa Dare
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
When girl meets Duke, their marriage breaks all the rules…

Since his return from war, the Duke of Ashbury’s to-do list has been short and anything but sweet: brooding, glowering, menacing London ne’er-do-wells by night. Now there’s a new item on the list. He needs an heir—which means he needs a wife. When Emma Gladstone, a vicar’s daughter turned seamstress, appears in his library wearing a wedding gown, he decides on the spot that she’ll do.

His terms are simple:
- They will be husband and wife by night only.
- No lights, no kissing.
- No questions about his battle scars.
- Last, and most importantly… Once she’s pregnant with his heir, they need never share a bed again.


But Emma is no pushover. She has a few rules of her own:
- They will have dinner together every evening.
- With conversation.
- And unlimited teasing.
- Last, and most importantly… Once she’s seen the man beneath the scars, he can’t stop her from falling in love…
Thoughts on The Duchess Deal: Ash and Emma were ADORABLE together. But, then, I have a soft spot for growly, brooding men and the women who give them ridiculous pet names. Honestly, Emma's increasingly off the wall nicknames for him had me laughing. Hard. And his ... quiet horror at some of them made me laugh even harder.

But this isn't all pet names and laughter. Ash isn't the usual perfect Duke. He's scarred. He's surly. He's very, very lucky Emma crossed his path when she did. While she ticked off all the boxes he thought he needed in a wife, she also had a backbone of steel and she wasn't about to let him get away with some of the things he tried to get away with.

Her charming openness takes him off guard. Her acceptance of his scars goes a long way toward shocking him back into the world of the living. AND THOSE NICKNAMES. He pretends to dislike them, but we all know differently.

I'm generally enamored of all Tessa Dare's books and this one was no different. Ash and Emma were sweet and silly and absolutely perfect together.